Help running the game

Help regarding development/scripting, troubleshooting or just general gameplay -- anything that hasn't already been answered in the Wiki or pinned FAQs.

Moderator: Developers

vger
Acid Blob (New member)
Acid Blob (New member)
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 11:06 pm

Post by vger »

Copying setup.txt to ~/.egoboo-2.x/ seems to fix the problem. Now I get the same issue as penguinflyer:

Code: Select all

tehpr0be@karmic:~$ egoboo-2.x 
Initializing filesystem services...
Game directories are:
	Binaries: /usr/games/
	Data: /usr/share/games/egoboo-2.x/
	User Data: /home/tehpr0be/.egoboo-2.x/
	Config Files: /usr/etc/egoboo-2.x/
SDL WARN: Unable to set SDL video mode: Couldn't find matching GLX visual
SDL WARN: Unable to set SDL video mode: Couldn't find matching GLX visual
tehpr0be@karmic:~$ 
Any idea ? :P
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

Last time we had that error it was because SDL tried to start in 32-bit while Linux can only do 24.
// GLX doesn't differentiate between 24 and 32 bpp, asking for 32 bpp
// will cause SDL_SetVideoMode to fail with:
// "Unable to set video mode: Couldn't find matching GLX visual"
User avatar
penguinflyer5234
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 3025
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Best Southwest

Post by penguinflyer5234 »

actually the last time I remember was we were setting the red/green/blue/alpha color bits thingy to 5 instead of 8.

(which, oddly enough, 5 is 16-bit+alpha, and 8 is 32-bit)
...
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

Soo... colour bit thingy... Is that a SDL setting?
User avatar
penguinflyer5234
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 3025
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Best Southwest

Post by penguinflyer5234 »

It's a GL setting, but I forgot what they're called (anyway they should be #if defined out)
...
vger
Acid Blob (New member)
Acid Blob (New member)
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 11:06 pm

Post by vger »

anything new ? :P
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

These are the values penguinflyer was talking about.

Code: Select all

    GL_DEBUG( glGetIntegerv )( GL_RED_BITS,         &pcaps->red_bits );
    GL_DEBUG( glGetIntegerv )( GL_GREEN_BITS,       &pcaps->green_bits );
    GL_DEBUG( glGetIntegerv )( GL_BLUE_BITS,        &pcaps->blue_bits );
    GL_DEBUG( glGetIntegerv )( GL_ALPHA_BITS,       &pcaps->alpha_bits );
But these seem to be set by your video configuration rather than be set in Egoboo?
User avatar
penguinflyer5234
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 3025
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Best Southwest

Post by penguinflyer5234 »

Where is this? (I can go debug around it if needed)
...
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

This is in ogl_extensions.c

I just did a text search through all the files for any appearance of "red_bits" which seem only to appear in ogl_extensions.c and ogl_extensions.h

It seems that the file only gets the red_bits data but doesn't set anything though.
User avatar
penguinflyer5234
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 3025
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Best Southwest

Post by penguinflyer5234 »

I found itttttttttttttt

(gdb) print v.gl_att
$4 = {color = {8, 8, 8, 0}, buffer_size = 24, doublebuffer = 1,
depth_size = 32, stencil_size = 0, accum = {0, 0, 0, 0}, stereo = 0,
multi_buffers = 1, multi_samples = 4, accelerated_visual = 1,
swap_control = 0}

depth_size cannot be 32 on this machine, I've attempted to change the z-buf setting in the /etc/egoboo-2.x (it says it loads from there) to 24 but it doesn't work. Fix that in the global setup.txt and we should be good :)

hmm
Apparently /etc/egoboo-2.x is . if your .egoboo-2.x doesn't have setup.txt.

Also if your .egoboo-2.x doesn't have controls.txt, it doesn't load.
...
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

Great job penguinflyer! :D

So the problem was with the color bits after all. So in the global setup I just make sure this is set?

Code: Select all

[COLOR_DEPTH] : "24"
[Z_DEPTH] : "24"
Maybe I also should disable the ingame setup menu to increase those values beyond 24 on linux?
User avatar
penguinflyer5234
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 3025
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Best Southwest

Post by penguinflyer5234 »

Yeps :)
...
vger
Acid Blob (New member)
Acid Blob (New member)
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 11:06 pm

Post by vger »

Just great :P. I'm very glad you figurd it out! Many thanks all!
vger
Acid Blob (New member)
Acid Blob (New member)
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 11:06 pm

Post by vger »

Thanks again Penguin, here are the steps to get 2.8 working on ubuntu:

Code: Select all

sudo cp /usr/etc/egoboo-2.x/setup.txt ~/.egoboo-2.x/
sudo cp /usr/etc/egoboo-2.x/controls.txt ~/.egoboo-2.x/
Then edit ~/.egoboo-2.x/setup.txt like penguin pointed out:

Code: Select all

{GRAPHIC}
[Z_DEPTH] : "24"
Also it seems I might have spoken too fast :s . Now I get that problem http://egoboo.sourceforge.net/forum/vie ... php?t=1051 (game freezing when loading module or quitting :/)

Is it working for you penguin ?
ns89
Acid Blob (New member)
Acid Blob (New member)
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 2:05 am

Post by ns89 »

Yay! I got it working now! But now I have that same problem with modules. :(
Post Reply