Help running the game

Help regarding development/scripting, troubleshooting or just general gameplay -- anything that hasn't already been answered in the Wiki or pinned FAQs.

Moderator: Developers

vger
Acid Blob (New member)
Acid Blob (New member)
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 11:06 pm

Help running the game

Post by vger »

Hello all !

I just downloaded the 2.8, followed the readme and got all the requiered dependencies and successfully compiled the game. But when I want to run it I only get this:

Code: Select all

tehpr0be@karmic:~$ egoboo-2.x
Initializing filesystem services...
Game directories are:
	Binaries: /usr/games/
	Data: /usr/share/games/egoboo-2.x/
	User Data: /home/tehpr0be/.egoboo-2.x/
	Config Files: /usr/etc/egoboo-2.x/
tehpr0be@karmic:~$ 
I must be missing something.. with previous 2.7 releases I could build and play them with no problems :o

EDIT my debug/log.txt shows
FATAL ERROR: Could not load setup settings: "setup.txt"

Many thanks.
Last edited by vger on Wed Aug 11, 2010 11:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
penguinflyer5234
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 3025
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Best Southwest

Post by penguinflyer5234 »

check /home/tehpr0be/.egoboo-2.x/debug/log.txt
...
vger
Acid Blob (New member)
Acid Blob (New member)
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 11:06 pm

Post by vger »

thx for fast answer :)

here's the full log:

Code: Select all

Starting Egoboo 2.8.0 ...
INFO: PhysFS file system version 2.0.0 has been initialized...
INFO: Initializing Linux file system...
INFO: Initializing clock services...
FATAL ERROR: Could not load setup settings: "setup.txt"
User avatar
penguinflyer5234
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 3025
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Best Southwest

Post by penguinflyer5234 »

did you by any chance not install it with 'make install'?
...
vger
Acid Blob (New member)
Acid Blob (New member)
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 11:06 pm

Post by vger »

nope, I installed with make install :s
btw my issue is exactly like this person's: http://egoboo.sourceforge.net/forum/vie ... php?t=1046

and I do have a "setup.txt" in /usr/etc/egoboo-2.x/
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

I see. Can you confirm this bug with the latest revision penguinflyer? Could be some change causes this problem in Linux. I remember doing something with the loading of setup.txt to fix a problem in windows.
User avatar
penguinflyer5234
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 3025
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Best Southwest

Post by penguinflyer5234 »

Boop COMPILING WOOT

[edit]
WHAT IS THIS MADNESS

Code: Select all

neptunium@mpc:~/egoboo-2.6.x$ game/egoboo-2.x
Initializing filesystem services...
Game directories are:
        Binaries: /home/neptunium/.local/games/
        Data: /home/neptunium/.local/share/games/egoboo-2.x/
        User Data: /home/neptunium/.egoboo-2.x/
        Config Files: /home/neptunium/.local/etc/egoboo-2.x/
SDL WARN: Unable to set SDL video mode: Couldn't find matching GLX visual
SDL WARN: Unable to set SDL video mode: Couldn't find matching GLX visual
Did someone remove that #ifdef __UNIX__ somewhere? :( ...and since when is egoboo 15 megabytes in size :o

I think I give up on Egoboo's code, I dunno where anything is anymore :/
...
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

Same happened to me mate... Some revision ago my binaries suddenly bumped up to 15 mb from 1.3 or so.

I just fixed a linux bug where controls weren't properly saved, but that isn't the big issue right now. I also fixed some windows related bugs but this one might be trickier.

SDL WARN: Unable to set SDL video mode: Couldn't find matching GLX visual

sounds like SDL doesnt like your video settings? This is the error you might get if your Color Depth is incorrect. Try setting it to 24? I remember Linux disliking anything higher.

More info from the Ubuntu forums: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=861422
User avatar
penguinflyer5234
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 3025
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Best Southwest

Post by penguinflyer5234 »

It worked before until like now :/

(desktop is at 1600x1200x32x85Hz
...
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

Try 1600x1200x24x85Hz?

Do you have any other OpenGL games you could try to see if they have the same issue?
User avatar
penguinflyer5234
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 3025
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Best Southwest

Post by penguinflyer5234 »

hmm it seems that this desktop IS in 24-bit mode, sorry :(

SuperTux svn r6641 works (800x600)
SuperTuxKart svn r4641 works with Irrlicht 1.6.1 (1024x768)
Blob Wars : Blob and Conquer v1.06 works (kinda, 1024x768)
SoulFu v1.5 works (1024x768, 16bit colors, 16bit z-buffer)
T-Engine (ToME) 4 v1.0.0beta7b works (1024x768)
Crack Attack! v1.1.14 (1100x1100)
Armagetron Advanced v0.2.8.2.1 (1024x768)
Extreme Tux Racer v0.4/0.5 beta (forgot which one) (800x600)
Wormux v0.8.1 (1152x864)
JoGL v1.1.0 (my game uses this) (600x400)
Model Viewer.exe (Wine!) (640x480)
World of Goo Demo (I dunno, but it works in fullscreen)
Frogatto v1.0 (800x600)
Google Earth v5.0.11337.1968 (976x814 - toolbars)
Neverball v1.5.4 (1024x768)
hmm... am I done yet? :P
...
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

Ok we can rule out any driver issues :)

What else could be affecting this? Maybe setup.txt is being loaded incorrectly and Egoboo tries to start in 32 bit? (while linux supports 24 at most)
User avatar
penguinflyer2222
Queen Penguin (Senior Member)
Queen Penguin (Senior Member)
Posts: 6614
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:51 am

Post by penguinflyer2222 »

lol nice list there.
......
vger
Acid Blob (New member)
Acid Blob (New member)
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 11:06 pm

Post by vger »

I might sound silly but, what exactly has changed between 2.7 and 2.8 which could have affected the way the game loads setup.txt??
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

Setup.txt is loaded from the private egoboo folder instead of the local egoboo folder.
Post Reply