New binary for SVN users (#45)

The development of the game itself or new resources for it. Any new stuff you're working on would go here, as well as the discussion of in-development stuff.

Moderator: Developers

Locked
bgbirdsey
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
Posts: 1864
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Post by bgbirdsey »

Probably not. We actually use a pretty low level of OpenGL. Since you are not getting anything in the GL error log, then you probably don't have any errors.

It might be possible that there is something you could do about setting the GL settings using the graphics driver (right click on the desktop->properties->settings->advanced, and then there may be a tab for OpenGL settings)
Poop Loops
Tranch (Novice)
Tranch (Novice)
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 9:08 pm
Location: Washington State

Post by Poop Loops »

I got the torch to light in the Healer starter. I'm guessing my Paladin character is just messed up somehow or the lich module is messed up somehow, because lighting the Healer's torch was really easy, either with the flaming skull or the brazier. It has been impossible for me to do this with my Paladin, even though I do the same things.
User avatar
Shade
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Posts: 7349
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:25 pm
Location: Gensokyo

Post by Shade »

bgbirdsey wrote:Probably not. We actually use a pretty low level of OpenGL. Since you are not getting anything in the GL error log, then you probably don't have any errors.
Damn it. :/
bgbirdsey wrote:It might be possible that there is something you could do about setting the GL settings using the graphics driver (right click on the desktop->properties->settings->advanced, and then there may be a tab for OpenGL settings)
Naw, there's nothing I could modify. I found a tab that shows me some pretty detailed-looking info about my GFX card, including a line about OpenGL, but it's nothing but gibberish to me, and there are no options in that tab.
User avatar
penguinflyer5234
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 3025
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Best Southwest

Post by penguinflyer5234 »

... Rev 600: (compiled with -g, obviously)

Code: Select all

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
[Switching to Thread 0xb734f710 (LWP 5888)]
0xb7e93d99 in glXGetConfig () from /usr/lib/libGL.so.1
(gdb) bt
#0  0xb7e93d99 in glXGetConfig () from /usr/lib/libGL.so.1
#1  0xb7f80f2d in ?? () from /usr/lib/libSDL-1.2.so.0
#2  0xb7f70ab5 in SDL_GL_GetAttribute () from /usr/lib/libSDL-1.2.so.0
#3  0x080a0e7f in SDLX_RequestVideoMode (v=0xbf917d6c, make_report=SDL_FALSE)
    at SDL_extensions.c:431
#4  0x080a0ffe in SDLX_set_mode (v_old=0xbf917e54, v_new=0xd38d79c,
    make_report=SDL_FALSE) at SDL_extensions.c:606
#5  0x080a1729 in SDL_GL_set_mode (v_old=0xbf917cb8, v_new=0xd38d744,
    gl_new=0xd60e398) at SDL_GL_extensions.c:234
#6  0x0806d451 in sdlinit_graphics () at graphic.c:4117
#7  0x0806d4e2 in sdl_init () at graphic.c:3985
#8  0x0806a389 in SDL_main (argc=1, argv=0xbf917fe4) at game.c:1012
#9  0x0808c877 in main (argc=-1208313523, argv=0xb7f87560) at sys_linux.c:65
...
bgbirdsey
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
Posts: 1864
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Post by bgbirdsey »

This error seems to be from within SDL. Given the way that SDL checks OpenGL parameters, I am assuming that the bug is in SDL.

the line that it is actually complaining about is

Code: Select all

SDL_GL_GetAttribute(SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLEBUFFERS, &actual_multi_buffers );
Which is a valid SDL command to use. I can check inside SDL to see what their bug is.

The only simple workaround is to eliminate the reading SDL_GL_MULTI* completely for *nix systems.
User avatar
penguinflyer5234
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 3025
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Best Southwest

Post by penguinflyer5234 »

Did you add that command in rev 600? Egoboo was working in rev 599...
...
Feenfleisch
Grub Bug (Rookie)
Grub Bug (Rookie)
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 5:52 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Feenfleisch »

rev 603 / newest exe

the game need 50 % of my ram
its lag like hell
the module's run with 1 fps
before i have no problems

Starting Egoboo 2.7.4 ...
INFO: Initializing high-performance counter...
INFO: Frequency is 3579545 hz
INFO: Initializing clock services...
INFO: Initializing filesystem services...
INFO: Game directories are:
Game: C:\Programme\Egoboo
Temp: C:\DOKUME~1\FEENFL~1\LOKALE~1\Temp\
Save: C:\Dokumente und Einstellungen\Feenfleisch\Eigene Dateien\egoboo\
Import: C:\DOKUME~1\FEENFL~1\LOKALE~1\Temp\import\
INFO: Initializing SDL_Image version 1.2.7... Success!
INFO: Initializing SDL version 1.2.13... Success!
INFO: Intializing SDL Timing Services... Succeess!
INFO: Intializing SDL Event Threading... Succeess!
INFO: Intializing SDL Video... Succeess!
INFO: Opening SDL Video Mode...
==============================================================
SDL set video mode to the current parameters
SDL window parameters
width == 800, height == 600, depth == 32
Using Video Driver - windib
Detecting available full-screen video modes...
Video Mode - 1280 x 800
Video Mode - 1280 x 768
Video Mode - 1280 x 720
Video Mode - 1280 x 600
Video Mode - 1024 x 768
Video Mode - 800 x 1280
Video Mode - 800 x 600
Video Mode - 768 x 1280
Video Mode - 768 x 1024
Video Mode - 720 x 1280
Video Mode - 640 x 480
Video Mode - 640 x 400
Video Mode - 600 x 1280
Video Mode - 600 x 800
Video Mode - 512 x 384
Video Mode - 480 x 640
Video Mode - 400 x 640
Video Mode - 400 x 300
Video Mode - 384 x 512
Video Mode - 320 x 240
Video Mode - 320 x 200

================
SDL_GL_Attribtes
SDL_GL_RED_SIZE == 8
SDL_GL_GREEN_SIZE == 8
SDL_GL_BLUE_SIZE == 8
SDL_GL_ALPHA_SIZE == 8
SDL_GL_DEPTH_SIZE == 32
SDL_GL_DOUBLEBUFFER == 1
SDL_GL_STENCIL_SIZE == 8
SDL_GL_ACCUM_RED_SIZE == 16
SDL_GL_ACCUM_GREEN_SIZE == 16
SDL_GL_ACCUM_BLUE_SIZE == 16
SDL_GL_ACCUM_ALPHA_SIZE == 16
SDL_GL_STEREO == 0
SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLEBUFFERS == 0
SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLESAMPLES == 0
SDL_GL_ACCELERATED_VISUAL == 0
SDL_GL_SWAP_CONTROL == 0

=========
SDL flags
single buffer
windowed
software surface
OpenGL support
OpenGL-compatible blitting
==============================================================

=======================
OpenGL state parameters
gl_version == 1.1.0
gl_vendor == Microsoft Corporation
gl_renderer == GDI Generic
gl_extensions == GL_WIN_swap_hint GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_paletted_texture
glu_version == (null)
glu_extensions == (null)

GL_MAX_MODELVIEW_STACK_DEPTH == 32
GL_MAX_PROJECTION_STACK_DEPTH == 10
GL_MAX_TEXTURE_STACK_DEPTH == 10
GL_MAX_NAME_STACK_DEPTH == 128
GL_MAX_ATTRIB_STACK_DEPTH == 16
GL_MAX_CLIENT_ATTRIB_STACK_DEPTH == 16

GL_SUBPIXEL_BITS == 3
GL_POINT_SIZE_RANGE == 0.500000 - 10.000000
GL_POINT_SIZE_GRANULARITY == 0.125000
GL_LINE_WIDTH_RANGE == 0.500000 - 10.000000
GL_LINE_WIDTH_GRANULARITY == 0.125000

GL_MAX_VIEWPORT_DIMS == 16384, 16384
GL_AUX_BUFFERS == 0
GL_RGBA_MODE == TRUE
GL_INDEX_MODE == FALSE
GL_DOUBLEBUFFER == TRUE
GL_STEREO == FALSE
GL_RED_BITS == 8
GL_GREEN_BITS == 8
GL_BLUE_BITS == 8
GL_ALPHA_BITS == 8
GL_INDEX_BITS == 8
GL_DEPTH_BITS == 32
GL_STENCIL_BITS == 8
GL_ACCUM_RED_BITS == 16
GL_ACCUM_GREEN_BITS == 16
GL_ACCUM_BLUE_BITS == 16
GL_ACCUM_ALPHA_BITS == 16

GL_MAX_LIGHTS == 8
GL_MAX_CLIP_PLANES == 6
GL_MAX_TEXTURE_SIZE == 1024

GL_MAX_PIXEL_MAP_TABLE == 65536
GL_MAX_LIST_NESTING == 64
GL_MAX_EVAL_ORDER == 30

=======================
=======================
Success!
INFO: Intializing SDL Joystick... Succeess!
INFO: net_initialize: Networking not enabled.
INFO: Initializing the SDL_ttf font handler... Success!
INFO: Intializing SDL Audio... Succeess!
INFO: Initializing SDL_mixer audio services version 1.2.8... Success!
INFO: Initializing module linking... Success!
INFO: Loading module "paladin.mod"
NOTE: Object is missing a skin (modules\paladin.mod\objects\bpopper.obj)!
NOTE: Object is missing a skin (modules\paladin.mod\objects\moduletool.obj)!
NOTE: Object is missing a skin (modules\paladin.mod\objects\popper.obj)!
WARN: spawn_one_character() - trying to spawn using invalid profile 1
WARN: spawn_one_character() - trying to spawn using invalid profile 2
WARN: spawn_one_character() - trying to spawn using invalid profile 3
WARN: spawn_one_character() - trying to spawn using invalid profile 4
WARN: spawn_one_character() - trying to spawn using invalid profile 5
WARN: spawn_one_character() - trying to spawn using invalid profile 6
INFO: net_initialize: Networking not enabled.
User avatar
penguinflyer5234
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 3025
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Best Southwest

Post by penguinflyer5234 »

Feenfleisch wrote: OpenGL state parameters
gl_version == 1.1.0
gl_vendor == Microsoft Corporation
gl_renderer == GDI Generic
gl_extensions == GL_WIN_swap_hint GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_paletted_texture
glu_version == (null)
glu_extensions == (null)
There's your problem. You're using the OpenGL from Microsoft, does your card's driver support OpenGL?
(the horrible lag is from the errors in stderr.txt being written over and over)
...
Feenfleisch
Grub Bug (Rookie)
Grub Bug (Rookie)
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 5:52 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Feenfleisch »

i have Mobile Intel® 945GM Express and the card's driver support OpenGL.

intel website:
The latest version of OpenGL currently supported by the Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator drivers is OpenGL 1.4 plus extensions.

i update the driver, but no change. i had no problem before
bgbirdsey
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
Posts: 1864
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Post by bgbirdsey »

do you have a file called stdout.txt in your game directory? If it exists, that means that you were experiencing a lot of OpenGL errors, and writing these errors to file could have caused all of your lag.

Please let me know whether this file exists and what errors are in it. (please do not try to post a multi-megabyte text file. Whatever the first error listed is probably just repeated over and over)
Feenfleisch
Grub Bug (Rookie)
Grub Bug (Rookie)
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 5:52 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Feenfleisch »

glBegin (".\ui.c" - 383)- invalid operation
glVertex2f (".\ui.c" - 385)- invalid operation
glTexCoord2f (".\ui.c" - 386)- invalid operation
glTexCoord2f (".\ui.c" - 387)- invalid operation
glTexCoord2f (".\ui.c" - 388)- invalid operation
glTexCoord2f (".\ui.c" - 385)- invalid operation
glBegin (".\font.c" - 217)- invalid operation
glTexCoord2f (".\font.c" - 219)- invalid operation
glVertex2f (".\font.c" - 220)- invalid operation
glTexCoord2f (".\font.c" - 222)- invalid operation
glVertex2f (".\font.c" - 223)- invalid operation
glTexCoord2f (".\font.c" - 225)- invalid operation
glVertex2f (".\font.c" - 226)- invalid operation
glTexCoord2f (".\font.c" - 228)- invalid operation
glVertex2f (".\font.c" - 229)- invalid operation
glBegin (".\font.c" - 217)- invalid operation
glBegin (".\ui.c" - 347)- invalid operation
glVertex2f (".\ui.c" - 349)- invalid operation
glVertex2f (".\ui.c" - 350)- invalid operation
glVertex2f (".\ui.c" - 351)- invalid operation
glVertex2f (".\ui.c" - 352)- invalid operation
User avatar
penguinflyer5234
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 3025
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Best Southwest

Post by penguinflyer5234 »

Feenfleisch wrote:The latest version of OpenGL currently supported by the Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator drivers is OpenGL 1.4 plus extensions.
But if your drivers are working properly, then why are you using the default driver that comes with XP for Egoboo?
...
Feenfleisch
Grub Bug (Rookie)
Grub Bug (Rookie)
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 5:52 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Feenfleisch »

how can i change that?
bgbirdsey
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
Posts: 1864
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Post by bgbirdsey »

I just made an update to several things in the SVN. I did not have a chance to see if it compiles without errors on linux.

you will have to add the file mesh.c to whatever build environment you are using.

The only thing that a player might notice is the change in the lighting.

There are a couple of bugs, like the mosquito sound not turning off when a module is quit... slightly annoying.... However the game does not freeze when you finish a starter module.

I will be gone until next Wednesday, but I might be able to look in on the forum and the SVN before then.
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

Sounds like PlaySoundLooped isn't properly stopped on module exit (maybe it's only stopped when the mosquitoe dies or is poofed?).

I'll check it out, I myself am uploading my whole Archmage module and I'll also upload the newest binary which is needed to play it.
Locked