New binary for SVN users (#45)

The development of the game itself or new resources for it. Any new stuff you're working on would go here, as well as the discussion of in-development stuff.

Moderator: Developers

Locked
bgbirdsey
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
Posts: 1864
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Post by bgbirdsey »

There may be some other problem with the paladin starter. Try messing around in the healer starter. I know that the torch can be lit in there by a number of means.
Poop Loops
Tranch (Novice)
Tranch (Novice)
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 9:08 pm
Location: Washington State

Post by Poop Loops »

I was actually doing the lich/vampire/graveyard/whatever module with the paladin.
User avatar
Shade
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Posts: 7349
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:25 pm
Location: Gensokyo

Post by Shade »

@bgbirdsey: Ok, just let me know when I should try it the next time.

In the meanwhile, I tried it again with the latest revision (of course no new binary though, if that is required as well), and this time also took a screenshot, in case that helps:

Image
User avatar
penguinflyer5234
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 3025
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Best Southwest

Post by penguinflyer5234 »

When linking rev 595:

Code: Select all

char.o: In function `move_characters':
char.c:(.text+0x982a): undefined reference to `_isnan'
char.c:(.text+0x9911): undefined reference to `_isnan'
char.c:(.text+0x9a73): undefined reference to `_isnan'
egoboo_math.o: In function `VNormalize':
egoboo_math.c:(.text+0x7e8): undefined reference to `_isnan'
egoboo_math.c:(.text+0x81a): undefined reference to `_isnan'
egoboo_math.o:egoboo_math.c:(.text+0x84b): more undefined references to `_isnan' follow
...
bgbirdsey
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
Posts: 1864
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Post by bgbirdsey »

@penguinflyer5234

argh, I forgot that I had that stuff still in there! There is a similar function for linux... I'll look it up and make the fix.
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

Clonkinator wrote:@bgbirdsey: Ok, just let me know when I should try it the next time.
Okay, here is the binary which has all those error trappings in it (output to stderror.txt). It might run slow as on my pc because of all the error trapping.

Download link: http://www.2shared.com/file/6225159/4d8 ... debug.html
User avatar
Shade
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Posts: 7349
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:25 pm
Location: Gensokyo

Post by Shade »

Alright. stderr.txt spits out the following line for 1.54 MB's worth:

Code: Select all

glTexParameterf (".\ogl_extensions.c" - 89)- invalid enumerant
Also, this binary (with r596) slowed Egoboo down to 5 FPS, but I guess that was to be expected.
bgbirdsey
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
Posts: 1864
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Post by bgbirdsey »

@Clonkinator

What is your texture filtering set at?

Also, the diagonal lines around the text and stuff has to do with improper blending settings along with GL settings for line antialiasing, I think.

No one else has it, so it may be something you'll have to live with for a while.
User avatar
penguinflyer5234
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 3025
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Best Southwest

Post by penguinflyer5234 »

Still one link error:

Code: Select all

egoboo_math.o: In function `VNormalize':
egoboo_math.c:(.text+0x807): undefined reference to `_isnan'
...
User avatar
Shade
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Posts: 7349
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:25 pm
Location: Gensokyo

Post by Shade »

bgbirdsey wrote:What is your texture filtering set at?

Code: Select all

[TEXTURE_FILTERING] : "MIPMAP"
bgbirdsey wrote:Also, the diagonal lines around the text and stuff has to do with improper blending settings along with GL settings for line antialiasing, I think.
Huh. That's weird, because with binary #23 and before, I didn't have that problem (or at least was able to turn it off).
However, maybe the update messed around with my setup.txt and I didn't notice it. Not sure about that. However, with the game running so slow (and me not being 100% familiar with what each option in setup.txt itself does), checking it would be tedious.
bgbirdsey wrote:No one else has it, so it may be something you'll have to live with for a while.
As this is not what keeps me from playing, that's fine.
bgbirdsey
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
Posts: 1864
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Post by bgbirdsey »

mipmap texture problem "fixed" :)
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

bgbirdsey wrote:mipmap texture problem "fixed" :)
And here is the binary: http://www.2shared.com/file/6229427/a96 ... goboo.html
User avatar
Shade
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Posts: 7349
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:25 pm
Location: Gensokyo

Post by Shade »

Alright. The weird lines have disappeared, the menu is a little less laggy now and the game now runs at around 7 to 8 FPS.

log.txt:

Code: Select all

Starting Egoboo 2.7.4 ...
INFO: Initializing high-performance counter...
INFO: Frequency is 3579545 hz
INFO: Initializing clock services...
INFO: Initializing filesystem services...
INFO: Game directories are:
	Game: D:\Programme\Egoboo 2.6.x (SVN)
	Temp: C:\DOKUME~1\Robert\LOKALE~1\Temp\
	Save: C:\Dokumente und Einstellungen\Robert\Eigene Dateien\egoboo\
	Import: C:\DOKUME~1\Robert\LOKALE~1\Temp\import\
INFO: Initializing SDL_Image version 1.2.7... Success!
INFO: Initializing SDL version 1.2.13... Success!
INFO: Intializing SDL Timing Services... Succeess!
INFO: Intializing SDL Event Threading... Succeess!
INFO: Intializing SDL Video... Succeess!
INFO: Opening SDL Video Mode... 
==============================================================
SDL set video mode to the current parameters
SDL window parameters
	width == 800, height == 600, depth == 32
Using Video Driver - windib
Detecting available full-screen video modes...
	Video Mode - 1280 x 1024
	Video Mode - 1280 x 768
	Video Mode - 1152 x 864
	Video Mode - 1024 x 768
	Video Mode - 800 x 600
	Video Mode - 640 x 480

================
SDL_GL_Attribtes
	SDL_GL_RED_SIZE           == 8
	SDL_GL_GREEN_SIZE         == 8
	SDL_GL_BLUE_SIZE          == 8
	SDL_GL_ALPHA_SIZE         == 8
	SDL_GL_DEPTH_SIZE         == 32
	SDL_GL_DOUBLEBUFFER       == 1
	SDL_GL_STENCIL_SIZE       == 0
	SDL_GL_ACCUM_RED_SIZE     == 16
	SDL_GL_ACCUM_GREEN_SIZE   == 16
	SDL_GL_ACCUM_BLUE_SIZE    == 16
	SDL_GL_ACCUM_ALPHA_SIZE   == 16
	SDL_GL_STEREO             == 0
	SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLEBUFFERS == 0
	SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLESAMPLES == 0
	SDL_GL_ACCELERATED_VISUAL == 0
	SDL_GL_SWAP_CONTROL       == 0

=========
SDL flags
	single buffer
	fullscreen
	software surface
	OpenGL support
	OpenGL-compatible blitting
==============================================================

=======================
OpenGL state parameters
	gl_version    == 1.2
	gl_vendor     == S3 Graphics
	gl_renderer   == KM400/KN400/MMX/K3D
	gl_extensions == GL_ARB_point_parameters GL_ARB_multitexture GL_EXT_blend_color GL_EXT_blend_minmax GL_EXT_blend_subtract GL_ARB_texture_env_combine GL_EXT_texture_env_combine GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3 GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3 GL_ARB_texture_env_add GL_EXT_secondary_color GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_EXT_stencil_wrap GL_EXT_fog_coord GL_ARB_transpose_matrix GL_EXT_separate_specular_color GL_EXT_rescale_normal GL_ARB_window_pos GL_EXT_abgr GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_packed_pixels GL_EXT_paletted_texture GL_EXT_vertex_array GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array GL_WIN_swap_hint 
	glu_version    == (null)
	glu_extensions == (null)

	GL_MAX_MODELVIEW_STACK_DEPTH     == 32
	GL_MAX_PROJECTION_STACK_DEPTH    == 2
	GL_MAX_TEXTURE_STACK_DEPTH       == 10
	GL_MAX_NAME_STACK_DEPTH          == 128
	GL_MAX_ATTRIB_STACK_DEPTH        == 16
	GL_MAX_CLIENT_ATTRIB_STACK_DEPTH == 16

	GL_SUBPIXEL_BITS          == 3
	GL_POINT_SIZE_RANGE       == 0.500000 - 20.000000
	GL_POINT_SIZE_GRANULARITY == 0.125000
	GL_LINE_WIDTH_RANGE       == 0.500000 - 10.000000
	GL_LINE_WIDTH_GRANULARITY == 0.125000

	GL_MAX_VIEWPORT_DIMS == 2048, 2048
	GL_AUX_BUFFERS       == 0
	GL_RGBA_MODE         == TRUE
	GL_INDEX_MODE        == FALSE
	GL_DOUBLEBUFFER      == TRUE
	GL_STEREO            == FALSE
	GL_RED_BITS          == 8
	GL_GREEN_BITS        == 8
	GL_BLUE_BITS         == 8
	GL_ALPHA_BITS        == 8
	GL_INDEX_BITS        == 32
	GL_DEPTH_BITS        == 32
	GL_STENCIL_BITS      == 0
	GL_ACCUM_RED_BITS    == 16
	GL_ACCUM_GREEN_BITS  == 16
	GL_ACCUM_BLUE_BITS   == 16
	GL_ACCUM_ALPHA_BITS  == 16

	GL_MAX_LIGHTS        == 8
	GL_MAX_CLIP_PLANES   == 6
	GL_MAX_TEXTURE_SIZE  == 1024

	GL_MAX_PIXEL_MAP_TABLE == 65536
	GL_MAX_LIST_NESTING    == 64
	GL_MAX_EVAL_ORDER      == 30

=======================
=======================
Success!
INFO: Intializing SDL Joystick... Succeess!
INFO: net_initialize: Networking not enabled.
INFO: Initializing the SDL_ttf font handler... Success!
INFO: Intializing SDL Audio... Succeess!
INFO: Initializing SDL_mixer audio services version 1.2.8... Success!
INFO: Initializing module linking... Success!
INFO: Loading module "advent.mod"
DEBUG: I am missing a AI script (modules\advent.mod\objects\platform.obj\script.txt)
       Using the default AI script instead (basicdat\script.txt)
DEBUG: I am missing a AI script (modules\advent.mod\objects\shaft.obj\script.txt)
       Using the default AI script instead (basicdat\script.txt)
INFO: net_initialize: Networking not enabled.
WARN: game_update_imports() - cannot find exported file for "Domp" ("domp.obj") 
INFO: memory_cleanUp() - Attempting to clean up loaded things in memory... Success!
INFO: Exiting Egoboo 2.7.4 the good way...
bgbirdsey
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
Posts: 1864
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Post by bgbirdsey »

do you have a stderr.txt in your root directory? If so, that is probably why it is running slowly, due to the multiple accesses to the file per frame. What dies it say?

I think a lot of the problems that you are experiencing are due to the fact that your GL support is only at version 1.2. XP is supposed to support up to version 1.4 AFAIK.
User avatar
Shade
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Posts: 7349
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:25 pm
Location: Gensokyo

Post by Shade »

bgbirdsey wrote:do you have a stderr.txt in your root directory? If so, that is probably why it is running slowly, due to the multiple accesses to the file per frame. What dies it say?
No, I saw stderr.txt disappear when I quit Egoboo.
bgbirdsey wrote:I think a lot of the problems that you are experiencing are due to the fact that your GL support is only at version 1.2. XP is supposed to support up to version 1.4 AFAIK.
Yeah, I think I already heard that before. Is there anything I could do to fix that besides getting a newer GFX card? :(
Locked