Page 2 of 3

Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 10:04 pm
by vger
Copying setup.txt to ~/.egoboo-2.x/ seems to fix the problem. Now I get the same issue as penguinflyer:

Code: Select all

tehpr0be@karmic:~$ egoboo-2.x 
Initializing filesystem services...
Game directories are:
	Binaries: /usr/games/
	Data: /usr/share/games/egoboo-2.x/
	User Data: /home/tehpr0be/.egoboo-2.x/
	Config Files: /usr/etc/egoboo-2.x/
SDL WARN: Unable to set SDL video mode: Couldn't find matching GLX visual
SDL WARN: Unable to set SDL video mode: Couldn't find matching GLX visual
tehpr0be@karmic:~$ 
Any idea ? :P

Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 10:38 pm
by Zefz
Last time we had that error it was because SDL tried to start in 32-bit while Linux can only do 24.
// GLX doesn't differentiate between 24 and 32 bpp, asking for 32 bpp
// will cause SDL_SetVideoMode to fail with:
// "Unable to set video mode: Couldn't find matching GLX visual"

Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 11:08 pm
by penguinflyer5234
actually the last time I remember was we were setting the red/green/blue/alpha color bits thingy to 5 instead of 8.

(which, oddly enough, 5 is 16-bit+alpha, and 8 is 32-bit)

Posted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 12:13 pm
by Zefz
Soo... colour bit thingy... Is that a SDL setting?

Posted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 8:32 pm
by penguinflyer5234
It's a GL setting, but I forgot what they're called (anyway they should be #if defined out)

Posted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:12 pm
by vger
anything new ? :P

Posted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:38 pm
by Zefz
These are the values penguinflyer was talking about.

Code: Select all

    GL_DEBUG( glGetIntegerv )( GL_RED_BITS,         &pcaps->red_bits );
    GL_DEBUG( glGetIntegerv )( GL_GREEN_BITS,       &pcaps->green_bits );
    GL_DEBUG( glGetIntegerv )( GL_BLUE_BITS,        &pcaps->blue_bits );
    GL_DEBUG( glGetIntegerv )( GL_ALPHA_BITS,       &pcaps->alpha_bits );
But these seem to be set by your video configuration rather than be set in Egoboo?

Posted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 7:15 pm
by penguinflyer5234
Where is this? (I can go debug around it if needed)

Posted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 9:25 pm
by Zefz
This is in ogl_extensions.c

I just did a text search through all the files for any appearance of "red_bits" which seem only to appear in ogl_extensions.c and ogl_extensions.h

It seems that the file only gets the red_bits data but doesn't set anything though.

Posted: Sat Aug 21, 2010 6:05 pm
by penguinflyer5234
I found itttttttttttttt

(gdb) print v.gl_att
$4 = {color = {8, 8, 8, 0}, buffer_size = 24, doublebuffer = 1,
depth_size = 32, stencil_size = 0, accum = {0, 0, 0, 0}, stereo = 0,
multi_buffers = 1, multi_samples = 4, accelerated_visual = 1,
swap_control = 0}

depth_size cannot be 32 on this machine, I've attempted to change the z-buf setting in the /etc/egoboo-2.x (it says it loads from there) to 24 but it doesn't work. Fix that in the global setup.txt and we should be good :)

hmm
Apparently /etc/egoboo-2.x is . if your .egoboo-2.x doesn't have setup.txt.

Also if your .egoboo-2.x doesn't have controls.txt, it doesn't load.

Posted: Sat Aug 21, 2010 9:12 pm
by Zefz
Great job penguinflyer! :D

So the problem was with the color bits after all. So in the global setup I just make sure this is set?

Code: Select all

[COLOR_DEPTH] : "24"
[Z_DEPTH] : "24"
Maybe I also should disable the ingame setup menu to increase those values beyond 24 on linux?

Posted: Sat Aug 21, 2010 9:27 pm
by penguinflyer5234
Yeps :)

Posted: Sat Aug 21, 2010 10:07 pm
by vger
Just great :P. I'm very glad you figurd it out! Many thanks all!

Posted: Sat Aug 21, 2010 10:29 pm
by vger
Thanks again Penguin, here are the steps to get 2.8 working on ubuntu:

Code: Select all

sudo cp /usr/etc/egoboo-2.x/setup.txt ~/.egoboo-2.x/
sudo cp /usr/etc/egoboo-2.x/controls.txt ~/.egoboo-2.x/
Then edit ~/.egoboo-2.x/setup.txt like penguin pointed out:

Code: Select all

{GRAPHIC}
[Z_DEPTH] : "24"
Also it seems I might have spoken too fast :s . Now I get that problem http://egoboo.sourceforge.net/forum/vie ... php?t=1051 (game freezing when loading module or quitting :/)

Is it working for you penguin ?

Posted: Sun Aug 22, 2010 9:44 pm
by ns89
Yay! I got it working now! But now I have that same problem with modules. :(