Egoboo 2.8.0 (Unstable) Bugs

Report bugs, errors and balance issues you may encounter ingame here.

Moderator: Developers

User avatar
octagon
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
Posts: 2589
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:07 pm

Post by octagon »

Can you make a screenshot of the most important of its contents? :o
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

My guess is that Texture Filtering and Antialiasing might be the most important things to lower.
Lower resolution can also help a lot.

The log file is also located in the "My Egoboo Stuff" folder. It's under the debug folder ;)
User avatar
Shade
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Posts: 7349
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:25 pm
Location: Gensokyo

Post by Shade »

Zefz wrote:My guess is that Texture Filtering and Antialiasing might be the most important things to lower.
Lower resolution can also help a lot.
About texture filtering, what do all the possible settings even mean? The current one is "anisotropic".
Zefz wrote:The log file is also located in the "My Egoboo Stuff" folder. It's under the debug folder ;)
Oh. Okay. xD
Then here's the output when I run the unstable release:
Starting Egoboo 2.8.0 ...
INFO: PhysFS file system version 2.0.0 has been initialized...
INFO: Initializing high-performance counter...
INFO: Frequency is 3579545 hz
INFO: Initializing clock services...
INFO: Loaded setup file "setup.txt".
INFO: Initializing SDL version 1.2.14... Success!
INFO: Intializing SDL Timing Services... Succeess!
INFO: Intializing SDL Event Threading... Succeess!
INFO: Intializing SDL Joystick... Succeess!
INFO: Intializing SDL Video... Succeess!
INFO: Opening SDL Video Mode...

==============================================================
SDL set video mode to the current parameters

SDL window parameters
width == 800, height == 600, depth == 32

SDL flags
windowed
SDL software surface
SDL single buffer
OpenGL support
OpenGL-compatible blitting

SDL_GL_Attribtes
SDL_GL_RED_SIZE == 8
SDL_GL_GREEN_SIZE == 8
SDL_GL_BLUE_SIZE == 8
SDL_GL_ALPHA_SIZE == 8
SDL_GL_BUFFER_SIZE == 32
SDL_GL_DEPTH_SIZE == 32
SDL_GL_DOUBLEBUFFER == 1
SDL_GL_STENCIL_SIZE == 8
SDL_GL_ACCUM_RED_SIZE == 16
SDL_GL_ACCUM_GREEN_SIZE == 16
SDL_GL_ACCUM_BLUE_SIZE == 16
SDL_GL_ACCUM_ALPHA_SIZE == 16
SDL_GL_STEREO == 0
SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLEBUFFERS == 0
SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLESAMPLES == 1
SDL_GL_ACCELERATED_VISUAL == 0
SDL_GL_SWAP_CONTROL == 0

SDL using video driver - windib
Available full-screen video modes...
Video Mode - 1280 x 1024
Video Mode - 1280 x 960
Video Mode - 1280 x 800
Video Mode - 1280 x 768
Video Mode - 1280 x 720
Video Mode - 1152 x 864
Video Mode - 1024 x 768
Video Mode - 1024 x 480
Video Mode - 848 x 480
Video Mode - 800 x 600
Video Mode - 720 x 576
Video Mode - 720 x 480
Video Mode - 640 x 480
Video Mode - 640 x 400
Video Mode - 512 x 384
Video Mode - 400 x 300
Video Mode - 320 x 240
Video Mode - 320 x 200
==============================================================

OpenGL state parameters
gl_version == 1.1.0
gl_vendor == Microsoft Corporation
gl_renderer == GDI Generic
gl_extensions == GL_WIN_swap_hint GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_paletted_texture
glu_version == (null)
glu_extensions == (null)

GL_MAX_MODELVIEW_STACK_DEPTH == 32
GL_MAX_PROJECTION_STACK_DEPTH == 10
GL_MAX_TEXTURE_STACK_DEPTH == 10
GL_MAX_NAME_STACK_DEPTH == 128
GL_MAX_ATTRIB_STACK_DEPTH == 16
GL_MAX_CLIENT_ATTRIB_STACK_DEPTH == 16

GL_SUBPIXEL_BITS == 3
GL_POINT_SIZE_RANGE == 0.500000 - 10.000000
GL_POINT_SIZE_GRANULARITY == 0.125000
GL_LINE_WIDTH_RANGE == 0.500000 - 10.000000
GL_LINE_WIDTH_GRANULARITY == 0.125000

GL_MAX_VIEWPORT_DIMS == 16384, 16384
GL_AUX_BUFFERS == 0
GL_RGBA_MODE == TRUE
GL_INDEX_MODE == FALSE
GL_DOUBLEBUFFER == TRUE
GL_STEREO == FALSE
GL_RED_BITS == 8
GL_GREEN_BITS == 8
GL_BLUE_BITS == 8
GL_ALPHA_BITS == 8
GL_INDEX_BITS == 8
GL_DEPTH_BITS == 32
GL_STENCIL_BITS == 8
GL_ACCUM_RED_BITS == 16
GL_ACCUM_GREEN_BITS == 16
GL_ACCUM_BLUE_BITS == 16
GL_ACCUM_ALPHA_BITS == 16

GL_MAX_LIGHTS == 8
GL_MAX_CLIP_PLANES == 6
GL_MAX_TEXTURE_SIZE == 1024

GL_MAX_PIXEL_MAP_TABLE == 65536
GL_MAX_LIST_NESTING == 64
GL_MAX_EVAL_ORDER == 30

==============================================================
Success!
INFO: Initializing the SDL_ttf font handler version 2.0.9... Success!
INFO: net_initialize: Networking not enabled.
INFO: Initializing SDL_Image version 1.2.7... Success!
INFO: Intializing SDL Audio... Succeess!
INFO: Initializing SDL_mixer audio services version 1.2.11... Success!
INFO: memory_cleanUp() - Attempting to clean up loaded things in memory... Success!
INFO: Exiting Egoboo 2.8.0 the good way...
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

Set Antialiasing to 0. Texture Filter options:

Code: Select all

UNFILTERED - Fastest and ugliest
BILINEAR - Fast and Ugly
MIPMAP - Below Normal
TRILINEAR - Normal but still ugly
2TRILINEAR - Normal
ANISOTROPIC - Best
Nothing wrong with your log. You do still have a really old OpenGL version that causes your frame rate drop :P
gl_version == 1.1.0
I myself use
gl_version == 3.2.0
and I think Egoboo is developed for OpenGL 3 or later. Your only option is to reduce graphics I guess.
User avatar
Shade
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Posts: 7349
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:25 pm
Location: Gensokyo

Post by Shade »

Zefz wrote:Nothing wrong with your log. You do still have a really old OpenGL version that causes your frame rate drop :P
gl_version == 1.1.0
I myself use
gl_version == 3.2.0
and I think Egoboo is developed for OpenGL 3 or later. Your only option is to reduce graphics I guess.
Huh. Is there a way for me to update my OpenGL version? My GFX card is still rather new after all, I can't really buy a new one again. :/
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

The only way to update your OpenGL drivers is to update your video card drivers. Go to your manufacturer's site and update your video card drivers to the latest version.

OpenGL 1.1.0 is ancient, like from before 2004. So that can't be a GFX card with updated drivers :P.
User avatar
Shade
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Posts: 7349
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:25 pm
Location: Gensokyo

Post by Shade »

FFFFF-- not that driver hocus pocus again. >_<
Eh, I guess I'll see if I can find anything.
User avatar
penguinflyer5234
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 3025
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Best Southwest

Post by penguinflyer5234 »

He's using Microsoft's software rendering for OpenGL for some odd reason...

(and I say Egoboo is like for 1.3 or so or later, my gl_version == 1.5 Mesa 7.6 )
...
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

Yay! I fixed the Platform sliding bug! :D

Using platforms is really easy and works smoothly now. I will upload the new binary along with the drop chest physics fixes and some other updates.
User avatar
Maxaxle
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
Posts: 4035
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 8:16 pm
Location: San Diego, CA
Contact:

Post by Maxaxle »

Zefz wrote:Yay! I fixed the Platform sliding bug! :D
Sounds like it was difficult; I know of a lot of games that don't have that fixed (mainly FPSs and GTA games).
"Failing to plan is planning to fail."
Bug me if you want to play a game.
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

I think I'll be releasing Egoboo 2.8.0 (Stable) soon. It seems most game breaking bugs are fixed now and we got a version that is already much more stable and bug free than 2.8.0 (Development).
User avatar
octagon
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
Posts: 2589
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:07 pm

Post by octagon »

Are the Zippy export bug and the character disappearing bug fixed?

These seem the most game-breaking to me. The Zippy bug prevents (or prevented) you from shopping at Zippy, and the disappearing bug broke the game every time you were hit by a fireball or cast Ring of Flames.
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

I haven't noticed those bugs myself. What exactly is "the disappearing bug"?
User avatar
octagon
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
Posts: 2589
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:07 pm

Post by octagon »

Your character becomes invisible and the view rises slightly as if he would jump, if you get hit by an explosion - but in fact, he is still there and can get hit by attacks (and attack, but not with every weapon, since sometimes weapons also disappear.)

If you respawn in this state, weird things happen, like that really old versions of the characters get loaded, that shouldn't even be on the hard drive anymore.
User avatar
penguinflyer2222
Queen Penguin (Senior Member)
Queen Penguin (Senior Member)
Posts: 6614
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:51 am

Post by penguinflyer2222 »

Hmm.. this reminds me of a bug I had once with the character being like stuck in midair way up high.. I don't remember the details though, it was a while ago and I was testing stuff :P
......
Post Reply