Egoboo Community Forum

The Legend of Egoboo Sporks of Yore
It is currently Mon Mar 27, 2017 4:25 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Multiplayer Graphics Bug
PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 2:50 pm 
Offline
Acid Blob (New member)
Acid Blob (New member)

Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 2:44 pm
Posts: 2
I don't know if it has been reported yet, I haven't found it anywhere.
When I play with more than 1 character, after about a minute game shows blackscreen. Minimap is still there, debug writing is still there, and I can play. But console says "Encountered graphics bug in frame:" and debug says rendered tile: 0/something (total number of tiles in module is still displayed correctly after slash)

Bug don't exist in single player, but it occurs in multiplayer. It doesn't matter if players use camera button or no, how far away they are, etc.
It just black screens after some time.
Any way I can fix this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 6:43 pm 
Offline
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Posts: 3818
Location: Norway
Hmm never heard about that one before. I cannot find your specified error message anywhere in the code.

_________________
http://egoboo.sourceforge.net
Image

Coder


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 9:56 pm 
Offline
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am
Posts: 1864
Location: Minnesota, USA
The error "Encountered graphics bug in frame:" has to do with one of the character animations. Since it is happening often for you, what characters are yo using, and does it happen when you do a certain attack or action?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 11:22 pm 
Offline
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Posts: 3818
Location: Norway
Could be that animation bug that you fixed for 2.8.2? (the one always happening in the healer starter)

_________________
http://egoboo.sourceforge.net
Image

Coder


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:51 am 
Offline
Acid Blob (New member)
Acid Blob (New member)

Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 2:44 pm
Posts: 2
I'm playing with 2 soldiers and a G'nome.
I tried not moving for some time, nothing happened. Then I tried walking with soldier (Stybald on screen). I walked in one direction, stoped, and before animation stopped completely I walked in another direction. Nothing was happening.
Then I wanted to try attacking or dropping, so I stopped completely, letting animation end.
Screen shows what happened.
[spoiler]
Image
Black area under console is unrelated, I just cut out my desktop as isn't important[/spoiler]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:34 pm 
Offline
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am
Posts: 1864
Location: Minnesota, USA
Thanks.

I think it is a bug with the way the animation data was being loaded. This has been fixed, but it could possibly crop up randomly with certain models and certain animations. Hopefully, a new release that fixes this problem will be out soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:41 pm 
Offline
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Posts: 3818
Location: Norway
It seems a similar crash bug still happens in the latest revision, most often when you play with more than 1 player. As long as I play single player there is no error, but with multiplayer I get a NaN error from egoboo_math.inline

_________________
http://egoboo.sourceforge.net
Image

Coder


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 12:24 am 
Offline
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am
Posts: 1864
Location: Minnesota, USA
I think it is likely a bug in the camera positioning, then.

With multiple players, the camera position is weighted by the player velocity so that you could have one player move away from the group and have the camera follow him (if no one else moves)... I bet there is a divide by zero in there?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 1:07 am 
Offline
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Posts: 3818
Location: Norway
That sounds very probable yes.

_________________
http://egoboo.sourceforge.net
Image

Coder


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Get Egoboo at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads