Egoboo Community Forum

The Legend of Egoboo Sporks of Yore
It is currently Sun Apr 30, 2017 7:06 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 10:54 pm 
Offline
Acid Blob (New member)
Acid Blob (New member)

Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 10:52 pm
Posts: 3
I experienced an error when attempting the "make all" command from "src" folder--output below:

make -C ./enet all
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/XXXXXX/Desktop/egoboo-2.8.1/src/enet'
gcc -Os -Iinclude -c -o host.o host.c
gcc -Os -Iinclude -c -o list.o list.c
gcc -Os -Iinclude -c -o memory.o memory.c
gcc -Os -Iinclude -c -o packet.o packet.c
gcc -Os -Iinclude -c -o peer.o peer.c
gcc -Os -Iinclude -c -o protocol.o protocol.c
gcc -Os -Iinclude -c -o unix.o unix.c
ar -rcs ./lib/libenet.a host.o list.o memory.o packet.o peer.o protocol.o unix.o
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/XXXXXX/Desktop/egoboo-2.8.1/src/enet'
make -C ./game all PREFIX=/usr PROJ_NAME=egoboo-2.x
make[1]: sdl-config: Command not found
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/XXXXXX/Desktop/egoboo-2.8.1/src/game'
make[1]: sdl-config: Command not found
gcc -Os -Wall -DPREFIX=\"/usr\" -D_NIX_PREFIX -I. -I.. -I../enet/include -I./extensions -I./file_formats -I./platform -c -o bbox.o bbox.c
In file included from egoboo_config.h:95:0,
from egoboo_typedef.h:25,
from egoboo_math.h:25,
from bbox.h:26,
from bbox.inl:26,
from bbox.c:24:
egoboo_platform.h:26:62: fatal error: SDL.h: No such file or directory
compilation terminated.
make[1]: *** [bbox.o] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/XXXXXX/Desktop/egoboo-2.8.1/src/game'
make: *** [egoboo] Error 2

*****end output*****

I'm not sure if this is the error referred to in the post just prior to mine, but I am running the Ubuntu 11.

Any help or fixes would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 12:07 am 
Offline
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am
Posts: 1864
Location: Minnesota, USA
you do not have SDL installed?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 4:11 pm 
Offline
Acid Blob (New member)
Acid Blob (New member)

Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 10:52 pm
Posts: 3
I'm fairly new to Linux, but I do believe I have the Nvidia graphics drivers installed with should support OpenGL and by virtue of that I believe it should support SDL. I opened the synaptic package manager and did a filter for SDL and it appears that there are some SDL related packages installed.

Are there specific ones I should be looking for to make sure they're installed?

Thanks!

After I posted this, I did a search and went to SDL's webpage which directed me to install libsdl 1.2 so I opened synaptic and had it load it and all it's dependencies and still I get the same error as before..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 5:07 pm 
Offline
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am
Posts: 1864
Location: Minnesota, USA
You need the SDL development package (SDL-dev on synaptic). Look in the DEPENDENCIES file and it will tell you everything you have to have before you can build egoboo.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 2:59 am 
Offline
Acid Blob (New member)
Acid Blob (New member)

Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 10:52 pm
Posts: 3
Well, I thought I had it there. I went through and installed just about every variation of the dependencies that I could find... just to make sure.

I was able to successfully execute the "make all" at least it didn't give errors though there were plenty of "warnings"

Now when I execute "sudo make install" I get this:

XXXXXXXXXXXXX-NE498AV-ABA-a6710t:~/Desktop/egoboo-2.8.1/src$ sudo make install
[sudo] password for XXXXXX:
make -C ./game all PREFIX=/usr PROJ_NAME=egoboo-2.x
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/XXXXXX/Desktop/egoboo-2.8.1/src/game'
make[1]: Nothing to be done for `all'.
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/XXXXXX/Desktop/egoboo-2.8.1/src/game'
######################################
# Thank you for installing egoboo!
#
# The default install of egoboo will require the commandline
# "sudo make install"
# and the required password
#
# If you do not have root access on this machine,
# you can specify a prefix on the command line:
# "make install PREFIX=$HOME/.local"
# where the environment variable PREFIX specifies a
# virtual root for your installation. In this example,
# it is a local installation for this username only.
#
mkdir -p /usr/games
install -m 755 ./game/egoboo-2.x /usr/games
mkdir -p /usr/share/games/egoboo-2.x
cp -rdf ./basicdat /usr/share/games/egoboo-2.x
cp: cannot stat `./basicdat': No such file or directory
make: *** [install] Error 1

Again, thanks for any tips as to what I still have to do!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 5:00 pm 
Offline
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am
Posts: 1864
Location: Minnesota, USA
since you did not download a "release" you will have two directories from the svn ("/branches/install" and "/branches/2.8.x"). These need to be merged to make a release.

You should copy the contents of "/branches/2.8.x" into the "/branches/install" before doing any make commands.

From where you are now, copy/move all of the files, execute "make clean" and then follow the instructions in README.linux.

It should compile and run, but it is possible that the default graphics settings will not work on your machine (not likely). If the program does not start please come back.

At this time, there is a known problem with reading and writing the controls.txt file, so you might have to reset your controls every time you start the program.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 2:15 pm 
Offline
Grub Bug (Rookie)
Grub Bug (Rookie)
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:07 pm
Posts: 62
Location: France
When i unlock levels, after sometime they disapear!

_________________
╔╗╔═╦╗
║╚╣║║╚╗
╚═╩═╩═╝


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:16 am 
Offline
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Posts: 3818
Location: Norway
Hmm... something going wrong with your quest.txt in your save file?

_________________
http://egoboo.sourceforge.net
Image

Coder


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2011 12:58 am 
Offline
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 8:16 pm
Posts: 4028
Location: San Diego, CA
I can't seem to save characters (I completed the Adventurer Starter, but instead of giving me the option of continuing with Luggy, he did not appear). I'm using 800X600 fullscreen (as 1024X768 is not an option).

_________________
"Failing to plan is planning to fail."
Bug me if you want to play a game.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2011 10:47 pm 
Offline
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Posts: 3818
Location: Norway
You got the Exit&Save button?

Hope this is already fixed in the svn.

_________________
http://egoboo.sourceforge.net
Image

Coder


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2011 10:49 pm 
Offline
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 8:16 pm
Posts: 4028
Location: San Diego, CA
Zefz wrote:
You got the Exit&Save button?

Hope this is already fixed in the svn.

Exit&Save button? I just pressed Escape when it said to, then it brought up text (right over the normal ingame text, no less), and then it brought me to the menu when I pressed enter.

EDIT: Although the character is indeed saved, it's as if Egoboo can't see it...Any ideas?

_________________
"Failing to plan is planning to fail."
Bug me if you want to play a game.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 1:39 am 
Offline
Tranch (Novice)
Tranch (Novice)

Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:45 pm
Posts: 115
Location: A place.
Whenever I try to go into zippy city it says " Invalid pmad instance spawn. (Slot number 0)"
EDIT: nevermind. its when i go into anywhere.
RE-EDIT:Also, you can walk through most entities.

_________________
I must be a zombie, because I came back after, around, a year.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 4:09 pm 
Offline
Acid Blob (New member)
Acid Blob (New member)

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 12:04 am
Posts: 4
I'm sure this have been looked at before, but I couldn't find anything. :(
when I try to run the game, it displays an error report saying

load_font0 - cannot load file! ("mp_data/font_new_shadow")

then it closes

any suggestions?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 6:48 pm 
Offline
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Posts: 3019
Location: Best Southwest
hmm, make sure that there is a basicdat/font_new_shadow.png in the main egoboo folder (where you installed it) (I thought Zefz changed it to font.png? :|)

_________________
...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 9:56 pm 
Offline
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Posts: 3818
Location: Norway
I thought so too.

_________________
http://egoboo.sourceforge.net
Image

Coder


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Get Egoboo at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads