Egoboo Community Forum

The Legend of Egoboo Sporks of Yore
It is currently Mon Mar 27, 2017 4:27 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 3:14 pm 
Offline
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:07 pm
Posts: 2516
Can you make a screenshot of the most important of its contents? :o


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 3:21 pm 
Offline
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Posts: 3818
Location: Norway
My guess is that Texture Filtering and Antialiasing might be the most important things to lower.
Lower resolution can also help a lot.

The log file is also located in the "My Egoboo Stuff" folder. It's under the debug folder ;)

_________________
http://egoboo.sourceforge.net
Image

Coder


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 3:34 pm 
Offline
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:25 pm
Posts: 6970
Location: Gensokyo
Zefz wrote:
My guess is that Texture Filtering and Antialiasing might be the most important things to lower.
Lower resolution can also help a lot.

About texture filtering, what do all the possible settings even mean? The current one is "anisotropic".

Zefz wrote:
The log file is also located in the "My Egoboo Stuff" folder. It's under the debug folder ;)

Oh. Okay. xD
Then here's the output when I run the unstable release:
Quote:
Starting Egoboo 2.8.0 ...
INFO: PhysFS file system version 2.0.0 has been initialized...
INFO: Initializing high-performance counter...
INFO: Frequency is 3579545 hz
INFO: Initializing clock services...
INFO: Loaded setup file "setup.txt".
INFO: Initializing SDL version 1.2.14... Success!
INFO: Intializing SDL Timing Services... Succeess!
INFO: Intializing SDL Event Threading... Succeess!
INFO: Intializing SDL Joystick... Succeess!
INFO: Intializing SDL Video... Succeess!
INFO: Opening SDL Video Mode...

==============================================================
SDL set video mode to the current parameters

SDL window parameters
width == 800, height == 600, depth == 32

SDL flags
windowed
SDL software surface
SDL single buffer
OpenGL support
OpenGL-compatible blitting

SDL_GL_Attribtes
SDL_GL_RED_SIZE == 8
SDL_GL_GREEN_SIZE == 8
SDL_GL_BLUE_SIZE == 8
SDL_GL_ALPHA_SIZE == 8
SDL_GL_BUFFER_SIZE == 32
SDL_GL_DEPTH_SIZE == 32
SDL_GL_DOUBLEBUFFER == 1
SDL_GL_STENCIL_SIZE == 8
SDL_GL_ACCUM_RED_SIZE == 16
SDL_GL_ACCUM_GREEN_SIZE == 16
SDL_GL_ACCUM_BLUE_SIZE == 16
SDL_GL_ACCUM_ALPHA_SIZE == 16
SDL_GL_STEREO == 0
SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLEBUFFERS == 0
SDL_GL_MULTISAMPLESAMPLES == 1
SDL_GL_ACCELERATED_VISUAL == 0
SDL_GL_SWAP_CONTROL == 0

SDL using video driver - windib
Available full-screen video modes...
Video Mode - 1280 x 1024
Video Mode - 1280 x 960
Video Mode - 1280 x 800
Video Mode - 1280 x 768
Video Mode - 1280 x 720
Video Mode - 1152 x 864
Video Mode - 1024 x 768
Video Mode - 1024 x 480
Video Mode - 848 x 480
Video Mode - 800 x 600
Video Mode - 720 x 576
Video Mode - 720 x 480
Video Mode - 640 x 480
Video Mode - 640 x 400
Video Mode - 512 x 384
Video Mode - 400 x 300
Video Mode - 320 x 240
Video Mode - 320 x 200
==============================================================

OpenGL state parameters
gl_version == 1.1.0
gl_vendor == Microsoft Corporation
gl_renderer == GDI Generic
gl_extensions == GL_WIN_swap_hint GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_paletted_texture
glu_version == (null)
glu_extensions == (null)

GL_MAX_MODELVIEW_STACK_DEPTH == 32
GL_MAX_PROJECTION_STACK_DEPTH == 10
GL_MAX_TEXTURE_STACK_DEPTH == 10
GL_MAX_NAME_STACK_DEPTH == 128
GL_MAX_ATTRIB_STACK_DEPTH == 16
GL_MAX_CLIENT_ATTRIB_STACK_DEPTH == 16

GL_SUBPIXEL_BITS == 3
GL_POINT_SIZE_RANGE == 0.500000 - 10.000000
GL_POINT_SIZE_GRANULARITY == 0.125000
GL_LINE_WIDTH_RANGE == 0.500000 - 10.000000
GL_LINE_WIDTH_GRANULARITY == 0.125000

GL_MAX_VIEWPORT_DIMS == 16384, 16384
GL_AUX_BUFFERS == 0
GL_RGBA_MODE == TRUE
GL_INDEX_MODE == FALSE
GL_DOUBLEBUFFER == TRUE
GL_STEREO == FALSE
GL_RED_BITS == 8
GL_GREEN_BITS == 8
GL_BLUE_BITS == 8
GL_ALPHA_BITS == 8
GL_INDEX_BITS == 8
GL_DEPTH_BITS == 32
GL_STENCIL_BITS == 8
GL_ACCUM_RED_BITS == 16
GL_ACCUM_GREEN_BITS == 16
GL_ACCUM_BLUE_BITS == 16
GL_ACCUM_ALPHA_BITS == 16

GL_MAX_LIGHTS == 8
GL_MAX_CLIP_PLANES == 6
GL_MAX_TEXTURE_SIZE == 1024

GL_MAX_PIXEL_MAP_TABLE == 65536
GL_MAX_LIST_NESTING == 64
GL_MAX_EVAL_ORDER == 30

==============================================================
Success!
INFO: Initializing the SDL_ttf font handler version 2.0.9... Success!
INFO: net_initialize: Networking not enabled.
INFO: Initializing SDL_Image version 1.2.7... Success!
INFO: Intializing SDL Audio... Succeess!
INFO: Initializing SDL_mixer audio services version 1.2.11... Success!
INFO: memory_cleanUp() - Attempting to clean up loaded things in memory... Success!
INFO: Exiting Egoboo 2.8.0 the good way...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 5:27 pm 
Offline
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Posts: 3818
Location: Norway
Set Antialiasing to 0. Texture Filter options:
Code:
UNFILTERED - Fastest and ugliest
BILINEAR - Fast and Ugly
MIPMAP - Below Normal
TRILINEAR - Normal but still ugly
2TRILINEAR - Normal
ANISOTROPIC - Best


Nothing wrong with your log. You do still have a really old OpenGL version that causes your frame rate drop :P
Quote:
gl_version == 1.1.0


I myself use
gl_version == 3.2.0
and I think Egoboo is developed for OpenGL 3 or later. Your only option is to reduce graphics I guess.

_________________
http://egoboo.sourceforge.net
Image

Coder


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:08 pm 
Offline
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:25 pm
Posts: 6970
Location: Gensokyo
Zefz wrote:
Nothing wrong with your log. You do still have a really old OpenGL version that causes your frame rate drop :P
Quote:
gl_version == 1.1.0


I myself use
gl_version == 3.2.0
and I think Egoboo is developed for OpenGL 3 or later. Your only option is to reduce graphics I guess.

Huh. Is there a way for me to update my OpenGL version? My GFX card is still rather new after all, I can't really buy a new one again. :/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:17 pm 
Offline
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Posts: 3818
Location: Norway
The only way to update your OpenGL drivers is to update your video card drivers. Go to your manufacturer's site and update your video card drivers to the latest version.

OpenGL 1.1.0 is ancient, like from before 2004. So that can't be a GFX card with updated drivers :P.

_________________
http://egoboo.sourceforge.net
Image

Coder


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:36 pm 
Offline
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
Potion Mimic (Senior Member)
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:25 pm
Posts: 6970
Location: Gensokyo
FFFFF-- not that driver hocus pocus again. >_<
Eh, I guess I'll see if I can find anything.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 11:08 pm 
Offline
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Posts: 3019
Location: Best Southwest
He's using Microsoft's software rendering for OpenGL for some odd reason...

(and I say Egoboo is like for 1.3 or so or later, my gl_version == 1.5 Mesa 7.6 )

_________________
...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 9:51 pm 
Offline
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Posts: 3818
Location: Norway
Yay! I fixed the Platform sliding bug! :D

Using platforms is really easy and works smoothly now. I will upload the new binary along with the drop chest physics fixes and some other updates.

_________________
http://egoboo.sourceforge.net
Image

Coder


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 8:54 pm 
Offline
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 8:16 pm
Posts: 4028
Location: San Diego, CA
Zefz wrote:
Yay! I fixed the Platform sliding bug! :D

Sounds like it was difficult; I know of a lot of games that don't have that fixed (mainly FPSs and GTA games).

_________________
"Failing to plan is planning to fail."
Bug me if you want to play a game.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 8:45 pm 
Offline
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Posts: 3818
Location: Norway
I think I'll be releasing Egoboo 2.8.0 (Stable) soon. It seems most game breaking bugs are fixed now and we got a version that is already much more stable and bug free than 2.8.0 (Development).

_________________
http://egoboo.sourceforge.net
Image

Coder


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 8:50 pm 
Offline
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:07 pm
Posts: 2516
Are the Zippy export bug and the character disappearing bug fixed?

These seem the most game-breaking to me. The Zippy bug prevents (or prevented) you from shopping at Zippy, and the disappearing bug broke the game every time you were hit by a fireball or cast Ring of Flames.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 10:18 pm 
Offline
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Posts: 3818
Location: Norway
I haven't noticed those bugs myself. What exactly is "the disappearing bug"?

_________________
http://egoboo.sourceforge.net
Image

Coder


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2010 7:44 am 
Offline
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
Darkshine Knight (Extremist fanatic)
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:07 pm
Posts: 2516
Your character becomes invisible and the view rises slightly as if he would jump, if you get hit by an explosion - but in fact, he is still there and can get hit by attacks (and attack, but not with every weapon, since sometimes weapons also disappear.)

If you respawn in this state, weird things happen, like that really old versions of the characters get loaded, that shouldn't even be on the hard drive anymore.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2010 2:49 pm 
Offline
Queen Penguin (Senior Member)
Queen Penguin (Senior Member)

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:51 am
Posts: 6233
Location: Midrule, 'tween Lorule 'n' Hyrule
Hmm.. this reminds me of a bug I had once with the character being like stuck in midair way up high.. I don't remember the details though, it was a while ago and I was testing stuff :P

_________________
penguinflyer2222 wrote:
So I don't make sense, but alas we need is epic!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Get Egoboo at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads