I'm a retard (so I ask help with stuff here)

Help regarding development/scripting, troubleshooting or just general gameplay -- anything that hasn't already been answered in the Wiki or pinned FAQs.

Moderator: Developers

User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: I'm a retard (so I ask help with stuff here)

Post by Zefz »

No, not without changing how it currently works.
User avatar
woodmouse
Monolich (Senior Member)
Monolich (Senior Member)
Posts: 4586
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 3:53 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: I'm a retard (so I ask help with stuff here)

Post by woodmouse »

Weeeeeeell. Would simply healing of allies and damaging enemies be too unepic? :o Because that's the only thing that comes to mind (and is actually possible to do, lol) at least right now. :P

But there's a problem, since for some reason it doesn't work... :? And as far as I know, I don't have any typos or anything, there's no "script error" or anything, just doesn't work... and it doesn't just get ignored, but enemies don't get hit at all. :shock: So there has to be something wrong, but I have no idea what... I'm so retarded. :| Oh, and the skin changing also fails... it'd be only eyes changing to white for a while, and a yellowish thing, but... :?

Code: Select all

IfUsed
  SetTargetToSelf
  tmpargument = 1
  ChangeTargetArmor
  tmpargument = 2
  SetState
  tmpargument = 80
  SetTime
  IfScoredAHit
    SetTargetToWhoeverWasHit
    IfTargetIsAlive
      IfTargetIsOnSameTeam
        tmpargument = 256*selflevel + 1028
        HealTarget
        tmpargument = 256*selflevel + 1028
        PumpTarget
        tmpargument = 10
        SpawnExactParticle
        tmpargument = 16
        PlaySound
    Else
      IfTargetIsOnHatedTeam
        tmpargument = 256*selflevel + 1028
        DamageTarget
        tmpargument = 256*selflevel + 1028
        CostTargetMana
        tmpargument = 11
        SpawnExactParticle
        tmpargument = 16
        PlaySound
  Else
    DoNothing

IfTimeOut
  tmpargument = 2
  IfStateIs
    SetTargetToSelf
    tmpargument = 0
    ChangeTargetArmor
    tmpargument = 1
    SetState

Once upon a time, when unicorns roamed the earth...
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: I'm a retard (so I ask help with stuff here)

Post by Zefz »

Code: Select all

Else
  DoNothing
You don't need this. This literally does nothing.
User avatar
woodmouse
Monolich (Senior Member)
Monolich (Senior Member)
Posts: 4586
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 3:53 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: I'm a retard (so I ask help with stuff here)

Post by woodmouse »

But without it, dead things would heal, even if it wouldn't do anything, it'd still be weird if there'd be something like "%t_was_healed" or whatever, when they're dead. Unless, of course, if that doesn't happen. :P
Once upon a time, when unicorns roamed the earth...
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: I'm a retard (so I ask help with stuff here)

Post by Zefz »

No they wont be healed. DoNothing does exactly what it says. Nothing. It does not affect the script or AI behaviour in any way.
User avatar
penguinflyer5234
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 3025
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Best Southwest

Re: I'm a retard (so I ask help with stuff here)

Post by penguinflyer5234 »

Code: Select all

IfHappy
  GoPoof
Else
  DoNothing
SpawnExactParticle
...
does the exact same thing as

Code: Select all

IfHappy
  GoPoof
SpawnExactParticle
...
(or at least it should)
...
User avatar
woodmouse
Monolich (Senior Member)
Monolich (Senior Member)
Posts: 4586
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 3:53 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: I'm a retard (so I ask help with stuff here)

Post by woodmouse »

So... I decided to try doing the pooping thing again:

http://www.mediafire.com/?qzrtrvy39ccjgo5

...and now it kind of works, since the shopkeeper disappears (but without the outhouse spawning or him going there), which obviously is better than simply nothing happening. I don't know if the problem is caused by the outhouse's script or the shopkeeper's? Also, I forgot to make it so the player would lose the toilet paper after bumping him, but that can be done later, since it obviously isn't the most important thing.

The log.txt says that "AddWaypoint" and "IfAtWayPoint" don't exist, even though AIdocs.txt has them (same problem as last time, but now he at least disappears).

Here's how it's supposed to go:
-Player with toilet paper bumps shopkeeper
-Shopkeeper says he'll go into the outhouse
-Outhouse appears
-Shopkeeper goes into the outhouse
-Shopkeeper disappears
-Shopkeeper comes back from the outhouse

...but right now, this is what happens:
-Player with toilet paper bumps shopkeeper
-Shopkeeper disappears

So a few of the things don't happen, but are skipped (even the spawning of the outhouse, and the message, which seems a bit weird). Am I missing something important, or is it just a mysterious problem?
Once upon a time, when unicorns roamed the earth...
User avatar
penguinflyer5234
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 3025
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:39 am
Location: Best Southwest

Re: I'm a retard (so I ask help with stuff here)

Post by penguinflyer5234 »

AddWaypoint should exist, it's number F012 in aicodes.txt (Egoboo's name to function converter)
IfAtWaypoint is F002 (you spelled it wrong)
...
User avatar
woodmouse
Monolich (Senior Member)
Monolich (Senior Member)
Posts: 4586
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 3:53 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: I'm a retard (so I ask help with stuff here)

Post by woodmouse »

penguinflyer5234 wrote:AddWaypoint should exist, it's number F012 in aicodes.txt (Egoboo's name to function converter)
IfAtWaypoint is F002 (you spelled it wrong)
Ohhhhh. So it was "Waypoint" and not "WayPoint"... :oops:

Also, apparently I forgot the "XYZ" part from the spawning thing... :roll: But, even after fixing those, it still doesn't work...

http://www.mediafire.com/?boml2cmh3a0k0en
Once upon a time, when unicorns roamed the earth...
User avatar
woodmouse
Monolich (Senior Member)
Monolich (Senior Member)
Posts: 4586
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 3:53 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: I'm a retard (so I ask help with stuff here)

Post by woodmouse »

Ok, so, I've been slowly doing a module for a while, too slowly to post about. But well, so: does the ID [SLOW] only exist for the "Sloth" sword or is it used for other stuff too? Because an NPC that trades stuff for it should, you know, only accept it, instead of whatever else might have that same ID as well. The NPC is intended to pretty much just be annoying(/trolling), since going around with that all the way through a maze just to get something extremely useless is obviously pretty annoying. :P

PS: I'm 99% sure I'll finish the module, since it's gonna be pretty small and simple, unless some annoying unexplainable bug happens again... :?
Once upon a time, when unicorns roamed the earth...
Post Reply