Egoboo mac

Help regarding development/scripting, troubleshooting or just general gameplay -- anything that hasn't already been answered in the Wiki or pinned FAQs.

Moderator: Developers

Post Reply
Manu the Winner
Acid Blob (New member)
Acid Blob (New member)
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 7:57 pm

Egoboo mac

Post by Manu the Winner »

Hi, i have a problem compiling egoboo 2.8.1
i have an iMac with snow leopard, xcode 3.2.5 installed. i followed the steps in the user manual. By compiling egoboo in build config "release", i get two error messages:
File /Users/Manu/Downloads/egoboo-2.8.1/src/osx/../Egoboo.app depends on itself. This target might include its own product.

i am newbi with xcode, so could somebody please help me?
thank you in advance

Manu 8)
cocobomb
Acid Blob (New member)
Acid Blob (New member)
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 10:31 pm
Location: US

Post by cocobomb »

I'm having the same problem..
seems to be no workaround for me so far.
bgbirdsey
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
Posts: 1864
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Post by bgbirdsey »

We have no one who is maintaining the mac version of egoboo. If any of you guys are into mac programming, let us know!
Jonathan
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 10:51 pm
Location: Murrieta, CA
Contact:

Post by Jonathan »

Working on it. My goodness, has anything in this codebase not changed in the last few years?
Jonathan
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 10:51 pm
Location: Murrieta, CA
Contact:

Post by Jonathan »

Which branch should I be working against to fix the Mac build? And which one was 2.8.1 release from? branches/2.8.x, right?
bgbirdsey
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
Posts: 1864
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Post by bgbirdsey »

There is a branches/2.8.1 which is the release candidate.

If you are going to make a mac installer, be aware that Not not everything in that branch is being used. PM zefz so he can give you the heads up on what belongs in the release.
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

Use the 2.8.x branch. All the others are obsolete and no longer worked on. (including the trunk)
bgbirdsey
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
Posts: 1864
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Post by bgbirdsey »

Yes, ahem, 2.8.x is what I meant.... ;)
Jonathan
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 10:51 pm
Location: Murrieta, CA
Contact:

Post by Jonathan »

Sweet. Does anyone remember which revision number 2.8.1 was released from? I want to try and make sure the code/content's the same across all 3 platforms.
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

I am planning to release Egoboo 2.8.2 soon using the 2.8.x codebase, hopefully within the next 5 days or so. (mostly important bugfixes)
Jonathan
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 10:51 pm
Location: Murrieta, CA
Contact:

Post by Jonathan »

Ok, it's building and running off of the latest in branches/2.8.x, but it's painfully slow. I'll need to run it through the profiler to see if there's anything in particular causing it.

Also, input's not working properly. Using the arrow keys, I can only go right and down. Using the left or up keys also moves me right or down. :)

Image
User avatar
Zefz
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Squirrel Knight (Administrator)
Posts: 3820
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:27 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Zefz »

Progress! :)

I think the input problem has been encountered on Linux before as well. The slowdown can be tons of reasons. 25 fps doesn't seem that bad though! (and no update lag)
Jonathan
Sheep (Developer)
Sheep (Developer)
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 10:51 pm
Location: Murrieta, CA
Contact:

Post by Jonathan »

This is a fast computer; an 11 year old game shouldn't be causing it problems. :) Even the menus are being extremely choppy.

Initial profiling shows a ton of time spent in SDL_GetTicks (and downstream functions). It appears that the process manager spends a lot of time spinlocking here:

Code: Select all

while ( !EProc->base.killme && !EProc->base.terminated )
{
    // put a throttle on the ego process
    EProc->ticks_now = SDL_GetTicks();
    if ( EProc->ticks_now < EProc->ticks_next ) continue;
I haven't run it on a Windows computer in ages though, so I don't know what the expected behavior is like nowadays.
bgbirdsey
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
Posts: 1864
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Post by bgbirdsey »

I think that in a later version I put a

Code: Select all

if ( EProc->ticks_now < EProc->ticks_next ) { SDL_Delay(10); continue; }
in there. On windows systems this does not seem to make too much difference. The bottlenecks reported by my profiler are in the vector functions and a couple of parts of the collision code.

This part of the code (the part to make various machines synchronize) is not very well written, and has suffered from a lot of version changes/incompatibility over time. (For instance, I will fix it, but then that branch ends up being abandoned for another reason... )
Post Reply