Game won't run

Help regarding development/scripting, troubleshooting or just general gameplay -- anything that hasn't already been answered in the Wiki or pinned FAQs.

Moderator: Developers

CptBlaino
Acid Blob (New member)
Acid Blob (New member)

Game won't run

Post by CptBlaino »

I am new to Egoboo. I ran it once, played around and then changed some settings. I think I set it to widescreen, upped the resolutuion, and then set it to fullscreen. After hitting accept or whatever, I no longer remember, I didn't see any changes so I quit the game to see if that would get them to work. Now i get the Fatal Error message "I can't get the SDL to set any video mode" and it crashes. I have tried uninstalling and then reinstalling and it still won't open a second time.

Any help would be great.

Thanks

*edit
Running Vista Home Premium
bgbirdsey
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)

Post by bgbirdsey »

"I can't get the SDL to set any video mode"

This means that the video mode settings that you have in your setup.txt file. The working setup.txt file can be accessed through the "My Egoboo Stuff" link in your install folder.

The relevant settings are:

Code: Select all

{GRAPHIC}
[MIPMAP_HIGH_QUALITY] : "FALSE"
[COLOR_DEPTH] : "24"
[Z_DEPTH] : "24"
[FULLSCREEN] : "FALSE"
[SCREENSIZE_X] : "800"
[SCREENSIZE_Y] : "600"
[PERSPECTIVE_CORRECT] : "TRUE"
[TEXTURE_FILTERING] : "2_TRILINEAR"
[GOURAUD_SHADING] : "FALSE"
[ANTIALIASING] : "2"
[DITHERING] : "FALSE"
One of these settings is incompatible with your video card. It is most likely that it is either [Z_DEPTH] (8,16,24,32), [TEXTURE_FILTERING] (0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7), [COLOR_DEPTH] (24,32), SCREENSIZE_ (whatever your card supports), [FULLSCREEN] (try "FALSE" for debugging, since there are definite limits for valid fullscreen video modes).
CptBlaino
Acid Blob (New member)
Acid Blob (New member)

Post by CptBlaino »

Thanks, got it
bgbirdsey
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)
{]-[0{0|307 (Developer)

Post by bgbirdsey »